getting 2013 off to a good start.

I usually submit a post about once a week, but with the Christmas holidays it’s been a little hectic! I have been out running over the last couple of weeks but have had very little spare time once work, Christmas gift shopping and getting food in for Christmas had been done. I took part in our running club cross country league race on December 16th in Ware, Hertfordshire. Although the day was dry and bright it had rained the night before and had turned the ploughed fields into a quagmire which i likened to the quicksand scene in Indiana Jones!

mud

The course was really hard going and i had to walk on the worst sections with the mud being shin deep. I made the five mile course round in a slow time for the distance but it was certainly a good workout for the day. Over the following days i got out for a couple of runs, the longest was on Sunday 23rd December which was 12 miles in a time of 1 hour 35 minutes. I was pleased with this run especially as i managed to be inside the 8 minute mile average. I had a competitive run at the Buntingford year end 10 mile. I ran this in 1 hour 16 minutes 20 seconds. The route was quite hilly in places and was a struggle towards the end. Again i was happy with the result being well under 8 minute miles.

http://runkeeper.com/user/BazDrewPeacockTaylor/activity/138588713

http://www.racetimingsystems.net/Results/IndividualResults.aspx?Id=49

I am now only 2 months away from my two half marathons. I have a rigid day by day plan in place and now i’ve had my indulgence of chocolate and mince pies over Christmas i will get back to a sensible diet. I will keep you all informed of my progress. My aims for 2013 are…

Run a half marathon (two booked)

Run a sub two hour half marathon

Try for a sub 40 minute 10k

Possibly run a marathon

Possibly run an ultra

All the best for 2013!!

Leave a Reply

