Salomon Crossmax Guidance

20131011_103321   I am a moderate to severe overpronator so when looking for a trail shoe I had it in mind to look for a shoe that offered support. It isn’t that common to find a trail shoe with support as most people will tell you because trails are so uneven and the foot is always moving about there isn’t much point in having the support. I would rather have the support and run blister and injury free. My UK men’s size 9 weighed in at 380 grams which is quite heavy for a shoe but it is worth it for the protection they offer and is hardly noticeable running on trails. If I was running on roads for any distance greater than about 3 miles then I am sure they would slow you down and become uncomfortable. I have quite a wide foot and buy an E width when buying road shoes. These weren’t tight or uncomfortable so i would say they are either a D or possibly an E width although this wasn’t stated when purchased. Salomon describe the elements that make the Crossmax as follows: Stretch Air Mesh Lace Pocket Protective Toe Cap SensiFit QuickLace Friction Free Lace Eyelet SensiFlex Textile Non Marking Contagrip OS Tendon Contagrip HA Contagrip LT Molded EVA Dual Density EVA Light Weight Muscle Compressed EVA Transition Link Carriage Construction EVA Shaped Footbed Ortholite Out of the box the shoe was a good red and black design. To the feel it was very solid a really stiff when trying to flex. My initial worry from this was they were going to be real bricks on the feet and take some getting used to. Trying them on they were amazingly comfortable with the Ortholite providing a snug and comfy fit. Walking around in them they did feel a little stiff with the main amount of flex being in the toe box area. They certainly held the foot very firm and gave the feeling of protectiveness and support that is required from a trail shoe. Taking them out onto my local trails they were great to run in and the stiffness wasn’t even noticed. The Contagrip outsole was superb in the mud and prevented the slipping that road shoes usually had. The lugs are a combination of rubbers to suit differing surfaces so they handle every thing from tarmac to gravel and sloppy mud. Having run on the road in them i wouldn’t want to do very much at a time as the minimal sole cushioning means you really feel the foot strikes. My road sections when on a trail haven’t been more than 3 miles at a time and that is about as much as I would want to do as  could see lower leg or shin trouble coming on doing long distances on the road. The quick lace system is good but I found I was over tightening them to start with and had to find a balance between tight enough to stop any heel slip but not too tight to cause discomfort. It may be my foot shape but the top eyelet on the inside was rubbing my foot and making it sore. This may toughen up in time and is something I will keep an eye on or I will have to resort to plasters in that area when I run. When my feet got wet the Crossmax drained really quickly, was comfortable to continue running in and seemed to dry a little from the heat off my feet. The toe cap was also great offering protection from scuffing tree roots and clipping the odd stone. I used the Crossmax to run my first ultra the Stort 30 organised by http://www.challenge-running.co.uk/stort30/. They were fantastic through the entire 30 miles, I had no blisters at the end and only a couple of hot spots. Although I had wet feet they drained really quickly which helped reduce the likelihood of blisters. I will being using these shoes all through the winter on trails and hope to run more ultras in them in the future. Apart from the issue with the eyelet, which may only be personal to me,I had no problem with them at all and would recommend these shoes to anyone.Salomon do these shoes in a standard non guidance form so you do need to check when shopping that it is or isn’t the guidance version.

4 thoughts on “Salomon Crossmax Guidance

Leave a Reply

